Magical Holiday House in North Wales

What our guests say

Add Guestbook Entry

We have recently returned from a really enjoyable half term week at Bryn Engan with all the family - 7 adults and 4 children. Unfortunately Storm Brian spoiled the weather most days but we still managed to get out and about into Snowdonia for the Slate Quarries and zip wire, Harlech Castle, the Lyn Peninsula and Anglesey.
We appreciated the beautiful surroundings of the mountains and sea on our 2 sunny days and did some walking too. With such a perfect base we were glad to get back to a cosy, comfortable house for games, music making and great family meals around the splendid table. Thank you Susanna and Gary
— Jennifer Cox, 07 Nov 2017
A group of writers and poets spent a long weekend at Bryn Engan - it was the perfect spot for such an adventure! We were inspired by the landscape, peace and history of the setting and found the house to be comfortable and extremely well equipped. We hope to return again.... Thank you. — Sue Wood, 24 Oct 2017
We spent a brilliant week at Bryn Engan 23/30.07.17 - a family party of 10; celebrating my husband's 70th Birthday. This was our second visit and we appreciated the additional facilities; particularly the picnic area with the wonderful views. We visited our favourite beaches and experienced a new treat ; a very enjoyable excursion on the Welsh Highland Railway; with Grandad driving the engine. The house it's location and facilities are perfect for a family group .
Ruth Richardson
— Ruth Richardson, 07 Aug 2017
Just returned from an amazing week away to celebrate a 40th birthday. Such a wonderful well equipped house, perfect for us. There was so much to do at house and also locally. We visited snowdon, swallow falls, zip world fforest coaster and zip wire, beaches and castles. The weather was perfect. I am already missing the house, the area and the amazing views! Thankyou for all your help to make the perfect holiday x — Rhiannon, 06 Aug 2017
Just returned from a weeks family holiday at Bryn Engan. Ages from 13 to 74 and had the most amazing time. The cottage is just perfect with the table tennis and pool rooms and the large family dining table providing a great way to stay together for evening meals and games. This holiday brought together family from Norfolk and Australia - thank you just perfect. — Chris Talbot, 24 Jul 2017
What a beautiful holiday home you have. It exceeded expectations. — Deborah Barker, 20 Jun 2017
A truly lovely house in a stunning location. It offered everything we could have wanted for a special family gathering (8 adults and 3 children) Despite not having the best weather we were still able to take advantage of the surroundings and enjoy the peace and quiet. We will definitely look to book again sometime as many of us are suffering withdrawal symptoms. — Sian Collinson, 04 May 2017
The setting and the facilities of the house were just perfect. The pool room, the big dining table & the wood-burning stove were particular hits with various members of our party! — Magnus Ramage, 20 Apr 2017
Bryn Engan is a magical place. We loved it!
— Carolyn McCarthy, 01 Apr 2017
We loved it all! Our group ranged from age 2 to 75. Bryn Engan was great as we could all find our own little area to do whatever we wanted. Always really warm, loved the log burning fire, great comfy beds and bedding. I don't think it could be any better! Thank you. — Lynne Nelson-Kirby, 06 Jan 2017
I can't recommend this farm house enough, 10 of our family spent 3 days here and we had a great time. There is plenty of space in the property and also the out buildings which house a pool table and table tennis, totally safe for young children to run around outside and a small woodland garden. The views from the property are stunning, we could not fault it at all and we will definitely be going back next year. All our family enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this amazing place. See you very soon. 10/10 x — Suzanne , 10 Nov 2016
We had a great visit thank you You guys have a super set up there ! — Andy B, 27 Jun 2016
What an amazing house and setting, beautiful and peaceful and the perfect place to get together with family and friends and completely relax. I knew Bryn Engan was isolated when I booked but it was not until we arrived and saw the house and surroundings that I realised how completely away from everything we were and how beautiful the surroundings are. Every evening our children played on the large grassy area at the front of the house without us having to worry about them disturbing anyone, while we enjoyed a beer, views and sunshine from the picnic table. The pool table and table tennis were also well used by everyone in our party, especially my 10 year old daughter. We were really lucky with the weather so spent most of the week visiting the local beaches, of which there are plenty just a short drive away. Everyone in our party agreed, we will definitely stay at Bryn Engan again. — Sarah Taylor, 12 Jun 2016
What an amazing place to stay! The house feels quiet and remote, like you've got away from the world - but not so hidden away the waitrose delivery van couldn't find it! The house is comfortable and spacious, we were 9 adults and one child but never felt cramped. The lovely grounds, table tennis barn and pool room all helped ensure we could spread out, as well as while away the evening with a few tournaments. The large dining table was a particularly great feature and was where everyone gathered for meals or board games. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and genuinely set up for large groups. We were lucky with the weather and the house is well placed for easy access to a range of great places to visit - we went to Beddgelert, Portmeirion, Abersoch, a walk (halfway) up Snowdon. This was the perfect venue for our reunion holiday and we'll definitely be returning. — Jessie Owen, 03 Jun 2016
We have returned home after a weekend at Bryn Engan celebrating my sons 21st birthday and feel like we have come back to earth with a huge bang! Bryn Engan was fantastic, 12 adults from young to old everyone had the wow factor by how fabulous the house and setting is. The barns with the pool table and table tennis were a welcome treat of fun with the young and young at heart. The log burner soon made us feel very toastie after the winter weather during the day, The pictures do not give this place justice, the saying is 'Don't just holiday there, live there' and for 3 nights and 4 days we felt it was our home! It a huge privilege to be able to enjoy the delights that Bryn Engan offers, to have all that space and setting all to yourself is a rare find and we will definitely return, but for a least a week next time. Thank you Susanna for the great communication and sharing this hidden gem in beautiful North Wales 😀 — Lara Hembery, 04 May 2016
Fantastic farmhouse with everything needed to cater and entertain large groups.

Photos do not do this place justice, plenty of space inside and out. We had frisbee and football with us which are well used. Stunning views from the picnic table where we spent most of our time.

12 adults in our group and never felt crowded. The pool room was great and well used in the evenings. Wish we had stayed longer, weekend was not enough to take it in.
— Guest, 06 May 2015
Fantastic house with all needs met. Just arriving at the cottage made us smile and when we opened the door we we were already planning numerous further stays.

The owners had thought of everything. Well equipped kitchen, great facilities, comfy beds and the whole house was tastefully decorated!

Our group had a relaxing but fun time and would highly recommend it.

It was well worth the 5 hour journey to get there.

The picnic bench overlooking the valley is very special.

Review Submitted: May 5, 2015 Date of Stay: Apr 2015 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
— Jen, 05 May 2015

I've just returned from my first stay in Bryn Engan, and am certain it won't be my last.

We booked the house for the New Year period, and it comfortably accommodated our whole group, including a toddler. It never felt cramped or overcrowded, and everyone was able to find their own space when they needed a break!

It was also brilliant that we could fit everyone in the front room at once, and the huge dining table accommodated a massive second-Christmas dinner for 12! (as well as numerous board games).

The location for us was brilliant. As we wanted to have a bit of a New Year party, we didn't want to be disturbing anyone, and with the fantastic seclusion you get, we didn't. We also made full use of the pool and table tennis facilities, it's particularly good that the pool room is heated.

We came at a very cold time, but between the heating, the wood burner and the comfy beds and bedding, we were cosy inside whilst 80mph gusts buffeted the windows! Very nice.

It's a beautiful house, everyone was exclaiming as they came in how cosy and homely it is, and it's really well equipped - unlike some places we have stayed, it really is made for a large amount of people. Lots of crockery and cutlery, plenty of fridge space, and some books and games to keep you entertained.

We had a couple of day trips to Portmeirion and to the seaside, and some of the group used the house as a base for walking, so it's well positioned for a variety of activities. It's close enough to be used as a base for climbing too, as the heart of Snowdonia is a short drive away.

Finally, the owners are really helpful and friendly, which always makes a stay that much better. We arrived to a nice note, a spotlessly clean house and a fully stocked supply of firewood. I absolutely cannot fault Bryn Engan as a place to stay, at any time of year, and for large groups it really is a fantastic option that has it all.

Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2015 Date of Stay: Dec 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
— Emma Horton, 06 Jan 2015
We have just returned from a two night stay at Bryn Engan. We were there to celebrate my mother-in-laws 60th birthday - 10 adults and a two year old and it was the perfect venue!! We had a wonderful time. It is a great size for a large family get together, very well equipped, clean with everything we could need. Its location is beautiful and has good locality to a range of lovely walks and activities. Susanna was a most helpful host and could not have been more helpful and informative in the lead up. Thank you we hope to return again soon! x

Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2014 Date of Stay: Oct 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway
— Nic, 15 Oct 2014