What our guests say

Our group had an absolutely amazing time at Bryn Engan. The place was perfectly suited to all our needs and incredibly clean and well presented. The pool house and ping pong barn is an amazing feature that gave a nice reprieve from the gale force winds and rain when it decided to make an appearance. We will definitely look at a return visit, and I have been frantically recommending it to anyone that will listen! Many thanks, Ewan.”   (Via Airbnb, Sept 30th2020)

  • Have just returned from a trip to Bryn Engan. What a beautiful cottage in even better surroundings. Susanna was the perfect host. There were extra COVID precautions in place to ensure a safe trip for everyone involved. The grounds and views at the cottage are spectacular and even better in real life than the pictures suggest. Everyone was amazed when we entered the cottage, its the perfect base to explore the surrounding area.

    All in all, I can definitely recommend a trip to the cottage - we will certainly be returning!

    JR

    — J.R, 03 Oct 2020
  • We stayed at Bryn Engan for 4 nights and had such an incredible stay! The house and grounds are beautiful especially the large BBQ table outside. We were fortunate enough with the weather to be able to sit outside until midnight and the stars over Bryn Engan are amazing. Susie was extremely accommodating with all things Covid related and couldn't have made it easier for our reduced group to be able to still make the trip. We were also given some great walk tips which we used to warm up for Snowdon. Hopefully we'll be able to visit again in the near future - thanks Susie for a great stay!!

    — Dominic, 29 Sep 2020
  • We have holidayed twice at Bryn Engan now- once as a family of 12 aged from 2 - 65 in June 2019 and we have just arrived back from a break with the other side of the family (10 people aged 3 - 69).

    We have loved our stays both times and would highly recommend the house. Susanna the host is very attentive and informative, and the house itself is a hidden treasure!

    The house is of the beaten track which we love, so the kids can play safely in the grounds without the worry of traffic. It’s handy for so many nice towns to explore, we have used it as a base to visit Harlech, Porthmadog, Beddgelert, Caernarfon and Criccieth..
    The house has everything you need- plenty of spacious bedrooms, a fully kitted out kitchen and large dining areas. We also loved a few nights of pool and table tennis tournaments while the children slept, so much better than our holidays abroad when my husband or I are often stuck in the room with sleeping children!
    It’s a testament to this house that we have visited twice, and we plan to return again.

    — Rebecca , 07 Sep 2020
  • Craig
    Craig
    September 2020
    Beautiful, traditional farmhouse which provided a great base to explore Snowdonia. Property is well equipped with everything you could need and was really comfortable for our family. Plenty of room and the table tennis and pool table were also activities we enjoyed. There is a drive to some of the main tourist hotspots but the drive is much nicer with Snowdonia as a backdrop. Susie was an excellent host who responds quickly and checked in to see if we were ok. Would recommend to anyone looking to explore the area, we loved it!!

    — Craig, 01 Sep 2020
  • Our family of all ages have had a great holiday at Bryn Engan. The house is very comfortable and we'll equiped. The pool room was very popular. Outside has stunning views of sea and mountains and lots of space for games. Susie was particularly thoughtful and helpful in these strange times. Thank you we will return

    — Lynne Stones, 27 Aug 2020
  • Have just returned from another wonderful 2 weeks at Bryn Engan, It never disapoints! So well equiped and such beautiful surroundings you forget what's going on in the world! A true hidden gem where the kids have so much fun and adults can kick back and relax with the stunning views! Susanna was a wonderful host checking if everything was ok, Feels so much like home and look forward to coming to our favourite place in wales for many years to come.

    — Heather Evans, 04 Aug 2020
  • Just returned home following a fantastic Christmas spent at Bryn Engan. We were a party of 9 family members . From booking in Jan 2019 until leaving on Sunday Susie was a fantastic host . The booking process was easy & Susie kept in touch throughout answering my many questions . The farm house is off the beaten track which was just what we wanted . It had everything we needed to produce the perfect Christmas - large well equipped kitchen , dinning table to seat us all . It was decorated for the festive season so made it a home from home . The bedrooms were well appointed & comfy . We all loved the pool table & table tennis table ( so much so the children abandoned their Christmas presents in favour of playing a game or two ! . Our grandchildren loved all the open space and spent many a happy hour playing outside . I would highly recommend this beautiful farmhouse & Susie . Can’t wait to return .

    — Angrla, 31 Dec 2019
  • We had such a fantastic time at Bryn Engan. The photos and reviews all made the place seem like it was going to be very good, but it was even better than we were expecting. Susie was absolutely great, making sure we had everything we needed for the weekend and sent us a very detailed set of directions to find the house. I would highly recommend staying at Bryn Engan to anyone. It was perfect for a large group and had everything you could need for a nice relaxing weekend. Thank you so much Susie, we loved it.
    Natalie, Cardiff

    — Natalie, 18 Nov 2019
  • A fantastic place for a large family group with the space, the games, the log fire, the pool table and even a piano for budding pianists or experts. A good kitchen with plenty of space for the cooks and all with great character.
    Roger,

    — Roger, 04 Nov 2019
  • Wow!! We really enjoyed our stay here. The house is so cozy and felt like home. There was 10 of us stay and we all loved our stay. So many little touches that definitely helped, like all the information to tell you how to work everything. Susie (owner) was brilliant she phoned to make sure everything was ok and replied back to messages very quickly. The men loved the man cave with the pool table and spent most there time in there, so us ladies could enjoy some wine in peace. I would say one of my favourite part of the house would have to be the view, mountains and sea it was perfect. I will definitely come back in the future, thank you susie for having us

    — Hayley, 20 Oct 2019
  • We have just had the most amazing holiday at Bryn Engan, the house is great and all 12 of us had plenty of space and slept well. The kids loved the outdoor space and table tennis and it was great for all of us to eat together around one large table. The house is so well equipped with everything you need. We had wonderful days at the beaches of Llanbedrog, Morfa Nefyn and Criccieth. It was so peaceful and such a beautiful setting, you won't be disappointed and Susanna couldn't be more helpful, such an amazing lady

    — Sarah , 18 Aug 2019
  • We had a fabulous stay at Bryn Engan. The views from the farmhouse are stunning and it was lovely to have so much outdoor space to ourselves. The house was very comfortable for our family party of six. We loved the pool and ping-pong tables and the piano. It's perfectly situated for exploring the Llyn Peninsula and Snowdonia and we had a great time at Morfa Nefyn (lovely beach), Surf Snowdonia, Coed y Brenyn (mountain biking), Blaenau Ffestiniog, Llanberis (climbing Snowdon), Portmeirion and the Inigo Jones Slate Museum. Susanna is a very kind and attentive host. Highly recommended!

    — Genevieve, 06 Aug 2019
  • Stayed as a group of 12 plus a baby for a weekend of walking in Snowdonia, it was beautiful accomodation and we all really enjoyed our visit :)

    Very much recomended if you are thinking of staying here!

    — Rebecca Hilton, 21 Jul 2019
  • Bryn Engan was an amazing cottage. We went to climb Snowdon and Cnicht, and it was perfectly situated for both climbs. It exceeded expectations in quality and cleanliness for the price. There were so many fantastic touches, including fresh flowers, welcome gifts, games and books galore, and a booklet of rainy day ideas (that we thankfully didn't need). Susie was a great host, and was quick to respond to any issues we had, even being patient when we were on the mountain. The check in was incredibly smooth. The kitchen, living room, games rooms, bathrooms, and outside seating made for a luxurious stay. Having a coffee in the morning with a view of the mountains and the sea is unbeatable. I couldn't recommend this place enough! A perfect gem in a beautiful area.
    Amy, England, United Kingdom

    — Amy , 01 Jul 2019
  • Great place to stay. Lots of space. We explored Snowdonia, some of our party played Nefyn golf course and went on the zip wire. Awesome weekend

    — Tandra, 01 Jul 2019
  • You will not be disappointed with this fabulous farmhouse. Lovely comfy beds, plenty of space for all the family and wonderful views, wet weather activities and space! We had a great week with everything we could need. Susie is a wonderul, attentive host and you'll fall in love with the place immediately!

    — Dee, 24 Jun 2019

  • This place is a real gem, and I can’t recommend it enough. Very spacious and clean, it had everything we needed and more. It is very much off the beaten track, but this is all part of the charm and the views were amazing. We were an extended family group of 12 ageing from 2 to 66 and everybody loved it. It’s near to some lovely towns such as Porthmadog and Caernarfon, and the Gypsy Wood was great for the kids. Susie was a great host, easily contactable and wanted to make sure we had everything we needed. We are already trying to plan when we can return!

    — Rebecca, 21 Jun 2019
  • Stunning location and a lovely place to stay. Susie was super fast with communication too. We had an amazing lab retreat here. Definitely recommend!

    — Dave, 13 Jun 2019
  • Wonderful time here to celebrate rwo family birthdays.the house was terrific and very cosy. Particularly enjoyed having log fires, playing pool and eating!
    Hamer Family May 2919



    — Hamer family, 13 May 2019
  • Susies place is pure chill out. Done out to a high standard, very clean , beautiful location and lots of onsite entertainment for wet and dry days. Kids and adults loved it there.
    Lynn, via Airbnb, April 2019

    — Lynn, 02 May 2019
  • Beautiful house and beautiful location, house fits 12 people perfectly.
    Perfect for adults wanting to chill and kids wanting to get outside and play ball and make use of the activities in the adjoining buildings.
    Everything had been thought of for large groups.
    Susanna was the perfect host, staying in regular contact from our booking date till our stay. We will all be back!

    — Zoe Hills, 05 Apr 2019
  • This house is situated in an idyllic location, the views are amazing and the house is perfect for a group or family gathering, we had an amazing weekend.

    — Robert, 23 Nov 2018
  • Stayed at Bryn Engan with a group of friends including 5 children. We were celebrating my partner's special birthday. A great time was had by all. The weather on our arrival wasn't too kind but the house is very cosy and the pool table and table football were well used. The house is very well equipped, especially the kitchen which has been well thought out for large groups. The location is stunning and very peaceful. Susanna the owner was excellent, keeping in touch and making sure our stay was going well. I would highly recommend this house. 12th to 15th October 2018.

    — Kay Mason, 04 Nov 2018
  • Fabulous house. The location is stunning and everything is well catered for a large group from the utensils provided to the games! It was the perfect place for our family celebration and the children and adults loved it - wish we’d stayed longer.

    — Robina, 01 Oct 2018
  • The cottage is fantastic and really well equipped. We felt it was so welcoming and comfortable. We made the most of our week there to re-
    discover and enjoy the Llyn peninsula. It is perfect for families to enjoy time together in such a spacious and peaceful place. Highly recommended!

    — the Pelissier family, 07 Jun 2018
  • 8 of us spent an enjoyable and fun filled weekend at Bryn Engan which was both well equipped and comfortable. The house is extremely peaceful, positioned in a remote location and sat amongst the stunning countryside with wonderful views of rolling fields, mountains and the sea. It served us perfectly for our trek up Snowdon and allowed us to relax and enjoy each others company with the benefit of a large lounge area, dining table and even a pool table for added entertainment. Thank you for a lovely stay. I expect a return visit before too long.

    — Nathan, 30 May 2018
  • We stayed at Bryn Engan for a reunion with 10 friends as we were over from New Zealand where we now live. We loved the house, the space of the grounds and the views. The kitchen was perfect for warming up all the lovely food our friends brought and the pool table and table football added to the fun. We think it is excellent value for money and Susanna was brilliant at communicating before and after our visit. We would thoroughly recommend Bryn Engan for a group gathering.

    — Ruth and Ian, 07 May 2018
  • We’ve had a truly wonderful time and have all fallen in love with the house!We’ve had such a special time, celebrating my husband’s special birthday in a very special location!
    The house is just perfect for groups/families to holiday together. It is really clean, well resourced and the bed are amazingly comfortable! Many thanks to you and we look forward to returning to Bryn Engan!

    — Natalie , 03 Apr 2018
  • We have recently returned from a really enjoyable half term week at Bryn Engan with all the family - 7 adults and 4 children. Unfortunately Storm Brian spoiled the weather most days but we still managed to get out and about into Snowdonia for the Slate Quarries and zip wire, Harlech Castle, the Lyn Peninsula and Anglesey.
    We appreciated the beautiful surroundings of the mountains and sea on our 2 sunny days and did some walking too. With such a perfect base we were glad to get back to a cosy, comfortable house for games, music making and great family meals around the splendid table. Thank you Susanna and Gary

    — Jennifer Cox, 07 Nov 2017
  • A group of writers and poets spent a long weekend at Bryn Engan - it was the perfect spot for such an adventure! We were inspired by the landscape, peace and history of the setting and found the house to be comfortable and extremely well equipped. We hope to return again.... Thank you.

    — Sue Wood, 24 Oct 2017
  • We spent a brilliant week at Bryn Engan 23/30.07.17 - a family party of 10; celebrating my husband's 70th Birthday. This was our second visit and we appreciated the additional facilities; particularly the picnic area with the wonderful views. We visited our favourite beaches and experienced a new treat ; a very enjoyable excursion on the Welsh Highland Railway; with Grandad driving the engine. The house it's location and facilities are perfect for a family group .
    Ruth Richardson

    — Ruth Richardson, 07 Aug 2017
  • Just returned from an amazing week away to celebrate a 40th birthday. Such a wonderful well equipped house, perfect for us. There was so much to do at house and also locally. We visited snowdon, swallow falls, zip world fforest coaster and zip wire, beaches and castles. The weather was perfect. I am already missing the house, the area and the amazing views! Thankyou for all your help to make the perfect holiday x

    — Rhiannon, 06 Aug 2017
  • Just returned from a weeks family holiday at Bryn Engan. Ages from 13 to 74 and had the most amazing time. The cottage is just perfect with the table tennis and pool rooms and the large family dining table providing a great way to stay together for evening meals and games. This holiday brought together family from Norfolk and Australia - thank you just perfect.

    — Chris Talbot, 24 Jul 2017
  • What a beautiful holiday home you have. It exceeded expectations.

    — Deborah Barker, 20 Jun 2017
  • A truly lovely house in a stunning location. It offered everything we could have wanted for a special family gathering (8 adults and 3 children) Despite not having the best weather we were still able to take advantage of the surroundings and enjoy the peace and quiet. We will definitely look to book again sometime as many of us are suffering withdrawal symptoms.

    — Sian Collinson, 04 May 2017
  • The setting and the facilities of the house were just perfect. The pool room, the big dining table & the wood-burning stove were particular hits with various members of our party!

    — Magnus Ramage, 20 Apr 2017
  • Bryn Engan is a magical place. We loved it!

    — Carolyn McCarthy, 01 Apr 2017
  • We loved it all! Our group ranged from age 2 to 75. Bryn Engan was great as we could all find our own little area to do whatever we wanted. Always really warm, loved the log burning fire, great comfy beds and bedding. I don't think it could be any better! Thank you.

    — Lynne Nelson-Kirby, 06 Jan 2017
  • I can't recommend this farm house enough, 10 of our family spent 3 days here and we had a great time. There is plenty of space in the property and also the out buildings which house a pool table and table tennis, totally safe for young children to run around outside and a small woodland garden. The views from the property are stunning, we could not fault it at all and we will definitely be going back next year. All our family enjoyed the peace and tranquility of this amazing place. See you very soon. 10/10 x

    — Suzanne , 10 Nov 2016
  • We had a great visit thank you You guys have a super set up there !

    — Andy B, 27 Jun 2016
  • What an amazing house and setting, beautiful and peaceful and the perfect place to get together with family and friends and completely relax. I knew Bryn Engan was isolated when I booked but it was not until we arrived and saw the house and surroundings that I realised how completely away from everything we were and how beautiful the surroundings are. Every evening our children played on the large grassy area at the front of the house without us having to worry about them disturbing anyone, while we enjoyed a beer, views and sunshine from the picnic table. The pool table and table tennis were also well used by everyone in our party, especially my 10 year old daughter. We were really lucky with the weather so spent most of the week visiting the local beaches, of which there are plenty just a short drive away. Everyone in our party agreed, we will definitely stay at Bryn Engan again.

    — Sarah Taylor, 12 Jun 2016
  • What an amazing place to stay! The house feels quiet and remote, like you've got away from the world - but not so hidden away the waitrose delivery van couldn't find it! The house is comfortable and spacious, we were 9 adults and one child but never felt cramped. The lovely grounds, table tennis barn and pool room all helped ensure we could spread out, as well as while away the evening with a few tournaments. The large dining table was a particularly great feature and was where everyone gathered for meals or board games. The kitchen was well equipped with everything we needed and genuinely set up for large groups. We were lucky with the weather and the house is well placed for easy access to a range of great places to visit - we went to Beddgelert, Portmeirion, Abersoch, a walk (halfway) up Snowdon. This was the perfect venue for our reunion holiday and we'll definitely be returning.

    — Jessie Owen, 03 Jun 2016
  • We have returned home after a weekend at Bryn Engan celebrating my sons 21st birthday and feel like we have come back to earth with a huge bang! Bryn Engan was fantastic, 12 adults from young to old everyone had the wow factor by how fabulous the house and setting is. The barns with the pool table and table tennis were a welcome treat of fun with the young and young at heart. The log burner soon made us feel very toastie after the winter weather during the day, The pictures do not give this place justice, the saying is 'Don't just holiday there, live there' and for 3 nights and 4 days we felt it was our home! It a huge privilege to be able to enjoy the delights that Bryn Engan offers, to have all that space and setting all to yourself is a rare find and we will definitely return, but for a least a week next time. Thank you Susanna for the great communication and sharing this hidden gem in beautiful North Wales 😀

    — Lara Hembery, 04 May 2016
  • Fantastic farmhouse with everything needed to cater and entertain large groups.

    Photos do not do this place justice, plenty of space inside and out. We had frisbee and football with us which are well used. Stunning views from the picnic table where we spent most of our time.

    12 adults in our group and never felt crowded. The pool room was great and well used in the evenings. Wish we had stayed longer, weekend was not enough to take it in.

    — Guest, 06 May 2015
  • Fantastic house with all needs met. Just arriving at the cottage made us smile and when we opened the door we we were already planning numerous further stays.

    The owners had thought of everything. Well equipped kitchen, great facilities, comfy beds and the whole house was tastefully decorated!

    Our group had a relaxing but fun time and would highly recommend it.

    It was well worth the 5 hour journey to get there.

    The picnic bench overlooking the valley is very special.

    Review Submitted: May 5, 2015 Date of Stay: Apr 2015 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

    — Jen, 05 May 2015

  • I've just returned from my first stay in Bryn Engan, and am certain it won't be my last.

    We booked the house for the New Year period, and it comfortably accommodated our whole group, including a toddler. It never felt cramped or overcrowded, and everyone was able to find their own space when they needed a break!

    It was also brilliant that we could fit everyone in the front room at once, and the huge dining table accommodated a massive second-Christmas dinner for 12! (as well as numerous board games).

    The location for us was brilliant. As we wanted to have a bit of a New Year party, we didn't want to be disturbing anyone, and with the fantastic seclusion you get, we didn't. We also made full use of the pool and table tennis facilities, it's particularly good that the pool room is heated.

    We came at a very cold time, but between the heating, the wood burner and the comfy beds and bedding, we were cosy inside whilst 80mph gusts buffeted the windows! Very nice.

    It's a beautiful house, everyone was exclaiming as they came in how cosy and homely it is, and it's really well equipped - unlike some places we have stayed, it really is made for a large amount of people. Lots of crockery and cutlery, plenty of fridge space, and some books and games to keep you entertained.

    We had a couple of day trips to Portmeirion and to the seaside, and some of the group used the house as a base for walking, so it's well positioned for a variety of activities. It's close enough to be used as a base for climbing too, as the heart of Snowdonia is a short drive away.

    Finally, the owners are really helpful and friendly, which always makes a stay that much better. We arrived to a nice note, a spotlessly clean house and a fully stocked supply of firewood. I absolutely cannot fault Bryn Engan as a place to stay, at any time of year, and for large groups it really is a fantastic option that has it all.

    Review Submitted: Jan 6, 2015 Date of Stay: Dec 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

    — Emma Horton, 06 Jan 2015
  • We have just returned from a two night stay at Bryn Engan. We were there to celebrate my mother-in-laws 60th birthday - 10 adults and a two year old and it was the perfect venue!! We had a wonderful time. It is a great size for a large family get together, very well equipped, clean with everything we could need. Its location is beautiful and has good locality to a range of lovely walks and activities. Susanna was a most helpful host and could not have been more helpful and informative in the lead up. Thank you we hope to return again soon! x

    Review Submitted: Oct 15, 2014 Date of Stay: Oct 2014 Source: Owners Direct, from HomeAway

    — Nic, 15 Oct 2014